USL Links: Six Questions for Christians Following the Newtown Massacre


This is from a blogger known as “The Friendly Atheist” ; but I find the questions perplexing.

Six Questions for Christians Following the Newtown Massacre.

Paul does tell us to have answers in season and out of season. So to my friends who have posted “this was because of no-school prayer,” what are your answers to these questions? How can we defend ourselves in light of these criticisms?

However a even better question is this: should we? Is it possible that God has used the wisdom of an atheist to point out a flaw in many of our social network wise, but theologically dumb reasoning?

I have often said that I feel some comradery with my atheist friends because most of the time, the gods they are opposing in their rhetoric and with their questions are gods that I as a Christian ought to oppose as well. This is not true for all their complaints about gods, but in many cases they do us in the Kingdom a great service by putting a mirror  to our faces and challenging our weakness.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I would add a seventh question: If this is God’s punishment, why is the murder rate (and the occurrence of mass shootings) so much lower in secular Europe than in the US?

    But mostly I want to say that I’ve been blogging since August, mainly about religion and atheism, and it’s pretty rare to see either a Christian or an atheist saying, in the context of controversy over religion, ‘Hey, somebody on the other side may have a valid point.’ That’s refreshing to see.

  2. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I think that you ought to
    write more about this issue, it may not be a taboo matter but generally
    people do not discuss such topics. To the next! Kind regards!
    !

  3. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you might be a
    great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog
    and will come back very soon. I want to encourage one to continue
    your great work, have a nice morning!

  4. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t
    wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful site.

Leave a Reply

