Sounds for a Easter Sunday


How would you set your playlist to score Easter Sunday. Might I recommend we start with with a Gospel ballad song by the blue-collar baritone of Mr. Bruce Springsteen: the great Baptist hymn, We Shall Overcome.

 

I have actually quoted this song in church on a Easter Sunday. My favorite song for a Easter Sunday is definitely the Hold Steady’s How a Resurrection Really Feels. I was reminded of this song this morning as I stood at the door and hugged two good friends who made reappearances at Church this morning (after decades of absence). To JB and RH I sing along with Craig Finn and say, “Welcome back! Now tell us how a resurrection really feels.”

 

While on the rock kick I must also put my i-tunes player to the hopeful joy of the Arcade Fire. The promise of a song such as No Cars Go is a must for the Easter celebrant.

 

Of course of I can also dig a little bluegrass with my rock, so a little Gillian Welch is always a plus. If one is to pull from her extensive catalog of greatness, one can do just as well with Winters Come and Gone. There has long been a welcome connection between the renewal of Spring with the renewal of Christ’s work. In this way to sing of the end of winter is to sing of the end of evil.

 

Of course while one is in a folksy vein why not little Conor Oberst with his Bright Eyes band. I really like the vibe of Old Soul Song (for a New World Order). It mixes with my previous discussion as it focuses on the way in which the beauty and wonder of the human experience seems to explode out of nowhere and nothing to bring the human into a place of liminity ( I hope I got that word right, I may have just pulled a Palin, if so, mea culpa).

 

Of course an discussion of the importance of Easter is bound to include the ideas of sin and salvation, and while we are folking it up I would point to Grayson Capp‘s amazing Washboard Lisa who is the very model of the mystery of the means of grace by which the God of Abraham moves in and through people (often times those who are overlooked by the finest members of a society).

 

Moving back to the start, I still prefer the talk of the Resurrection as the hope of the Christian, and love a good hopeful tune, and how it can surprise even the most jaded with its ecstatic sadness, for that I give you a final trinity of  pieces.

Feist, Graveyard:

A Fine Frenzy, Hope for the Hopeless:

Bruce Springsteen, Land of Hope and Dreams:

I may be posting a little late on this Easter Sunday, but I hope that next Easter, you can join me and the Boss in singing:

Grab your ticket and your suitcase
Thunder’s rolling down this track
Well you don’t know where you’re goin’ now
But you know you won’t be back
Well darlin’ if you’re weary
Lay your head upon my chest
We’ll take what we can carry
Ya, and we’ll leave behind the rest

Well, big wheels rolling through fields
Where sunlight streams
Meet me in a land of hope and dreams

Well I will provide for you
Ya and I’ll stand by your side
You’ll need a good companion now
For this part of your ride
Ya leave behind your sorrows
Ya this day at last
Well tomorrow there’ll be sunshine
And all this darkness past

Well, big wheels rolling through fields
Where sunlight streams
Oh meet me in a land of hope and dreams

Well this train
Carries saints and sinners
This train
Carries losers and winners
This train
Carries whores and gamblers
This train
Carries lost souls
This train
Dreams will not be thwarted
This train
Faith will be rewarded
This train
Hear the steel wheels singing
This train
Bells of freedom ringing

Leave a Reply

