Love and Death


Well, to quote Tom Petty, the waiting is the hardest part
I received a call on Wednesday that everyone dreads. My grandmother who was been suffering from dementia had been hospitalized again and the doctors felt that she was dying. I quickly made a reservation to fly out of Chicago to spend the weekend with family as we watched, waited, and prayed.
I arrived in Birmingham Friday afternoon and arrived at the hospital just behind a scheduled morphine shot. When I walked in my Grandma (who had been unresponsive for 2 days) woke up, and looked right at me. She recognized me and mentioned me in closer to tell me that she loved me. I was able to share some words with her, and told her that while I would miss her greatly I would not begrudge her the opportunity to meet Jesus, and be reunited with our family members who had gone before us. I asked her to tell my Granddad and my other Grandparents that I loved them and missed them greatly, but could not wait for the day in which I could be with them again. She was awake and responsive the entire time. After telling her this, she went back to sleep, and has not woken up once since (at least in my presence). It was truly a God moment.
Her health has been stable since then, but both the doctors and the hospice workers still believe that she is still on her way. However, no one is sure just when she will wrap up her business here on Earth and make that final transition to heaven. It really could be hours, days, or weeks.
With that in mind my family decided that we are all going to attempt to go back to our lives and reconvene in West Tennessee when and if she passes. So I will be flying back to Chicago tomorrow afternoon to attempt to make it through the class week.
Please continue to keep us in your thoughts and prayers. Please pray for me as I travel back to Chicago, and try to concentrate on school work in this trying time. Please pray for my sister and brother-in-law as they travel back to Knoxville, Tenn. and try to go back to work. Please pray that God’s will will be done, and my grandmother will make a smoove transition to the next world when that time comes.
Leave a Reply

